Bernie Wrightson (1948-2017)

I do not read comics much anymore, but when I did one of my very favorite artists was Bernie Wrightson. I didn’t normally read horror comics, but I read his, especially the character he is probably best known for, Swamp Thing, whom he co-created with Len Wein:

I’ve long had a theory that the darker the Batman, the longer the ears on his cowl, so it’s no surprise that Wrightson’s Batman had very long ears:

But perhaps Wrightson’s masterpieces were his illustrations for Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein . . .

. . . a character who, come to think of it, has a lot in common with Swamp Thing.

Goodbye, Bernie.

Leave a Reply

