A Blood Orange By Any Other Name

A student told me today that I had earned big points when I casually mentioned Blood Orange earlier in the semester. I replied, Sure, I know Dev Hynes. He did a double-take, Wait, Dev Hynes is Blood Orange? Yup, Devonte Hynes has recorded under several stage names, from his punk band Test Icicles to his rock/funk persona Lightspeed Champion, as well as producing artists such as Solange and Sky Ferreira.

But I like his Blood Orange recordings best.

The other student sitting with us had never heard of Hynes under any of his many names.

Now it was my turn to shake my head and say, So sad that an old fart like me knows more new music than you do; it’s supposed to be the other way around.

They complimented me on my music knowledge and told me I wasn’t that old. I’m sure it was just a coincidence that they were about to hand in their final papers.

Leave a Reply

