So Fine

While listening to my new Captain Beefheart box set, I was reminded of an old favorite. “Too Much Time” is a straight soul song nestled amidst Don Van Vliet’s usual modernist blues on the Clear Spot album:

For some reason, I’ve always associated that song with two others, perhaps because they are all retro soul songs (already retro when they were released in 1972, 1977 and 1984, respectively) that make me smile every time I hear them.

Wah Wah Watson is best known as a studio guitarist for Motown after they moved to L.A., playing on a number of early ’70s hits. He also released one album on his own, Elementary (on Columbia, not Motown). The highlight is “Love My Blues Away”:

Mark Anthony Thompson, who now records as part of the Chocolate Genius, Inc. music collective he established, released his self-titled debut album in 1984. The horns and refrain of “So Fine” get me every time:

So fine indeed!

 

Leave a Reply

