New Soul

Chet Faker is often compared to James Blake. However, Blake is far more experimental in his beats. Faker is more focused on melody. As such, I think more of Jamie Woon and even David Gray when I listen to Faker.  Not that that is a bad thing.

José James‘s No Beginning No End was one long groove in the mold of D’Angelo’s classic Voodoo. There are still touches of that on his new album, While You Were Sleeping, but tracks like “Every Little Thing” sound almost like James is fronting Living Colour:

Sam Smith‘s “Stay With Me” will probably become a staple on TV singing competitions:

My niece loves this kind of overblown soul ballad (she and her mother are mourning the demise of X Factor). I’ve got to admit that this one appeals even to me, but I find the style cloying over the course of his entire album. Overall, I far prefer the more understated, late night soul of artists like  How to Dress Well:

 

Leave a Reply

