New Inductees to the Songwriters Hall of Fame

When I visited London some time ago, I made a point of watching the sunset from Waterloo Bridge to honor The Kinks and Ray Davies, one of several new inductees to the Songwriters Hall of Fame:

I’ve always enjoyed this somewhat lesser known hit by Donovan:

Although he recorded numerous albums of his own, Jim Weatherly is best known for two hits recorded by Gladys Knight & the Pips, “Neither One of Us (Wants to Be the First to Say Goodbye)” and “Midnight Train for Georgia”:

Graham Gouldman wrote a string of hits for the Yardbirds and others before co-founding 10cc.  in 1975, “I’m Not in Love” was a guilty pleasure of mine:

I no longer feel guilty for the sappy pleasure it gives me. I just realized how similar the song’s intro is to that of Hall and Oates’s hit the following year, “She’s Gone,” though.

Mark Davis wrote two of Elvis’s hits, “Always on My Mind” (which he co-wrote) and the King’s last number one in the U.S., “Suspicious Minds.” Both were covered in the ’80s by British new wave bands, Pet Shop Boys and Fine Young Cannibals, respectively, if maybe not completely respectfully.

In 1974, Blue Swede covered his song “Hooked on a Feeling” (a 1968 hit by B.J. Thomas). In his bestselling expose of subliminal advertising, Media Sexploitation, Wilson Bryan Key claimed the “ooga-chuka” chant morphs into “who got sucked off.” Frankly, I never heard it, but it did not stop me from using those words when I sang along at the time:

 

One thought on “New Inductees to the Songwriters Hall of Fame

Leave a Reply

