Buying the Same Thing Twice

It had been a while since I bought a new David Bowie album, but the carefully calculated build up for The Next Day hooked me.  I enjoyed the album because it reminded me of his older classics like Scary Monsters and “Heroes,” which I ended up pulling out and playing more than the new one.

But when it initially came out on March 12, 2013, the 14 track regular edition was not enough for me.  I opted for the 17 track Deluxe Edition instead.  It used to be years, even decades, before bonus tracks turned a regular old album into a “deluxe edition.”  Now they are often released simultaneously with the regular edition.

On November 5, less than eight months later, the album will be expanded yet again as The Next Day Extra.  The first disc repeats the 14 “regular” tracks; the three “deluxe” tracks appear on a second disc along with six new tracks and the “Hello Steve Reich Remix” of “Love Is Lost” by ex-LCD Soundsystem member James Murphy.

The third disc, a DVD, compiles the four videos that promoted the album.  Those videos were quite impressive, directed by famous artists like Floria Sigismondi and Tony Oursler and featuring award-winning actors like Gary Oldman, Marion Cotillard and Tilda Swinton.

Bowie is not alone in supersizing his albums.  Yo La Tengo‘s Fade came out on January 15, 2013.  On November 19, the Deluxe Edition will add 17 tracks to the initial 10.


And I know I will end up buying both to these.   Why do I keep falling for this con?

Leave a Reply

